One of the most titled clubs in the history of the NBA is the "Chicago Bulls". How was the star team formed and who defends the honor of the club from Chicago today?

History of the club

His first season the club from Chicago (Illinois, USA) held in 1966. In the history of the NBA, this is actually the third team after Pekers and Stegs. The start was more than successful as for the newcomers - "Chicago Bulls" showed an excellent result and could go to the playoffs.

All their home meetings "bulls" were conducted at the International Amphitheater, and two years later began to play at the "Chicago Stadium." Over the next few years, the club managed to create a team that showed a tough defensive basketball. The stars of the years around which the whole scheme of the game was based were Jerry Sloan, Chet Volcker and Bob Love. But despite huge efforts, the "Chicago Bulls" never went to the final of the championship and only once became champions of their division.

Chicago Bulls - a star club with a rich history

Era of Great Jordan

But the history of the club from Chicago radically changed in 1984 when a young graduate of the University of North Carolina - the legend of American basketball, Michael Jordan - came to the team. He played the position of an attacking defender, and the coaching staff of the bulls decided to build a game around the young talent. In the same season, "Chicago Bulls", which was joined by Hakim Olajjuvona and John Peckson, went into the playoffs, and Michael received the title of "Rookie of the Year."

Next season Jordan does not spend at full strength due to a leg injury and misses 64 regular season games. In subsequent seasons, the leader of the "Chicago Bulls" sets performance records - 3000 points and 200 interceptions per season.

But the real success of the club comes with the purchase of another legendary basketball player is Scottie Pippen. In the season 1989-90 of a mentor Chicago gets Phil Jackson, who was destined to lead the team to the first championship titles.

First awards

Season 90/91 the club finishes in the first place in its division, which happens for the first time in 16 years. Pippen scored the optimal form and became a member of the "Match of All Stars", well, and Jordan receives the MVP award for the second time in his career.

In the final of the Eastern Conference, the bulls manage to finally defeat their opponents from Detroit, and they will play for the first time in the final of the NBA. The opponent in the decisive game was not easy - "Los Angeles Lakers." "Chicago Bulls" almost defeated the club of Magic Johnson and became the NBA champion (4: 1).

The title of the champions of the Chicagoans was given only in 1993, after leaving the club of Michael Jordan. The great player took such a decision after the murder of his father.

Since 1994, the club "Chicago Bulls" holds all their home meetings at the "United Center".

Who plays for the club today?

In the season of 2016/17, the club received a new mentor. In October, Fred Heuberg was appointed to this post. Today the colors of the club are protected:

  1. Ituan Moore.
  2. Tony Snell.
  3. Doug McDermott.
  4. Nikola Mirotich.
  5. Taj Gibson.
  6. Aaron Brooks.
  7. Jimmy Butler.
  8. Rajon Rondo.
  9. Dwyane Wade.
  10. Cristiano Filicio.

Coaching staff, "Chicago Bulls" is betting on the younger generation, and I want to believe that the club will still more than once receive the highest award of the NBA.